John Rust awarded distinction of University Professor

It is with great pride and joy that the Economics department announces that Professor John Rust has been awarded the honor of University Professor. John joins an elite list of university faculty, including another department member Professor George Akerlof, to receive the highest accolade awarded to faculty by President DeGioia. The University Handbook  states “Georgetown University reserves the rank of University Professor for faculty members of extraordinary achievement whose scholarly accomplishments have earned them substantial recognition from their academic peers. The rank is bestowed by the President in recognition of distinguished record of scholarship, teaching, and service to the University and higher education community at large. The rank is recognized as the University’s most significant professional honor, and is awarded rarely and only in accordance with the criteria specified in this policy.”

John is an outstanding scholar and most well known throughout the profession for his pioneering contributions to the area of structural econometrics. His scholarship has been acknowledged by various editorial appointments and his election as a Fellow of the Econometric Society and as a Founding Fellow of the International Association of Applied Econometrics. For his paper, “Optimal Replacement of GMC Bus Engines: An Empirical Model of Harold Zurcher” he was awarded the prestigious Frisch Medal.

John joined the Economics Department at Georgetown University in 2012 after holding positions at University of Wisconsin, Yale University and the University of Maryland. In 2014 he was appointed the Gallagher Family Professor of  Economics. In his time at Georgetown John has continued to distinguish himself through his scholarship, his service and his mentoring of students. His appointment as University Professor was announced earlier this year at a conference held at Georgetown to recognize John’s contributions to the economics profession. The Economics Department is proud to claim John as one of its members and we hope everyone will join us in congratulating him for this most remarkable recognition of his contributions.